Konami Reveals Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

September 16th, 2011 at 10:21 am

Konami have taken the veil off a new Metal Hear Solid HD collection, heading to Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3.

The Metal Gear Solid HD Collection not only boasts HD remastered versions of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Hear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, it will also include conversions of the original Metal Gear titles as released on the MSX systems, and also includes the many VR Missions that were released alongside Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, offering an exhaustive overview of the most enduring video game series of all time.

The collection will be released on one Blu-Ray Game Disc for the PlayStation version, and across two DVDs for the Xbox 360. Both version will feature trophies/achievements, high definition visuals, and remastered, digital sound.

Chronologically, Metal Hear Solid 3: Snake Eater is the first title, with series hero Snake sneaking through a Soviet jungle where intelligence reports a vital scientist is being held captive. Set in the 60s of the Cold War, Snake Eater sees Snake using his stealth abilities in a whole new locale – under the cover of the jungle foliage where various camo fatigues can be used for additional cover and to hide from the patrolling guards. As the mission to recover the scientist unfolds, faces from Snake’s past make welcome and unwelcome returns.

The next in the series’ timeline is Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, which takes place a decade after the events of SNAKE EATER and details the operations of Big Boss in Costa Rica. Set in 1974, Costa Rica has been overrun by a band of highly-trained mercenaries. Working with a squad of neutral troops, Snake discovers a CIA plot, and becomes embroiled in a mission to thwart a nuclear threat. The HD version of PEACE WALKER also includes totally renovated graphics, with every font, gauge and icon resized and enhanced to make use of the larger play screen, while a six-player multi-player mode has also been implemented.

The series then moves on to Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty – first released in Europe on PlayStation 2 in 2002 – which also marks Raiden’s first appearance in the series.
Solid Snake and Otacon receive intel that a new kind of Metal Gear vehicle is being transported across the Hudson River. Snake infiltrates the tanker, which is seized by a group of Russian mercenaries lead by long-term adversary, Revolver Ocelot. Two years pass, and a new terrorist faction calling themselves The Sons of Liberty have taken over the Big Shell base and newly-trained Fox Hound operative, Raiden, is sent to investigate.

The Metal Gear Solid Collection represents a stunning overview of one of the most iconic game series in history, and showcases the sheer talent of its legendary creator. It will allow many PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 users to experience these ground-breaking titles for the first time, but with the new visual and aural improvements modern gamers expect.

[Via Press Release]

Ty is the founder, Editor-in-Chief and nice guy of Aussie-Gamer.com. The first console Ty owned as a kid was the Sega Master System II which he used to enjoy games like Alex Kidd, Sonic the Hedgehog and Mickey Mouse. Since the early days, Ty's hobby became an obsession and over the years he has amassed a huge collection of video games from all manufacturers. You can read Ty's weekly opinion column here, and follow him on Twitter.

Share, Rate and Comment!
Recent Comments
Latest Reviews